The IWMP is launched with an aim to restore the ecological balance by harnessing, conserving and developing degraded natural resources such as soil, vegetative cover and water and create sustainable livelihoods for asset less.

The salient features of IWMP guidelines are as follows :-
  • Cluster of Micro watersheds covering an area of 1000-5000 ha will be treated as a project.
  • Unit cost raised from Rs. 6,000 per ha to Rs. 12,000/ha.
  • Fund allocation for Livelihoods for resource poor and Productivity Enhancement of Agriculture and Livestock.
  • Project period is 4-7 years
  • Fund pattern is 90:10 (Central and State share).
  • Powers have been delegated to States by constituting State Level Nodal Agency.
  • Dedicated institutions with professional teams at state and DWMA with financial assistance to dedicated institutions.
  • Project implementation in 3 phases. Preparatory phase, work phase and Consolidation phase.
  • Provision for foreclosure of the Projects.
  • All new watersheds from 2008-09 onwards will be implemented under a single programme called IWMP.
Budget Allocation

% of the Budget

- Administrative costs 10
- Monitoring 1
- Evaluation 1
Preparatory phase, including:
- Entry point activities 4
- Institution and capacity building, 5
- Detailed Project Report (DPR) 1
Watershed Works Phase:
- Watershed development works 56
- Livelihood activities for the asset less persons 9
- Production system and micro enterprises 10
Consolidation phase 3

The DoLR, GoI, has sanctioned 110 IWMP watersheds covering an area of 4.734 lakh ha with project cost of Rs. 56812.80 lakhs in 2009-10 and 171 IWMP watersheds covering an area of 7.408 lakh ha with a total cost of Rs 88907.88 lakhs for implementation in 12 districts of DPAP/DDP

For Implementation of the IWMP watersheds, State Level Nodal Agency (SLNA) has been constituted by the State Government, the Principal Secretary of the Rural Development being the chairperson and the Commissioner, Rural Development Department as the Full-time CEO of the SLNA having an independent Bank Account.

The SLNA consists of representatives from NRAA, Central Nodal Ministry, NABARD, and Agriculture, Animal Husbandry & Allied sector, Ground Water Board, eminent Voluntary Organisation, two professional experts from Research Institutions. Funds shall be routed through SLNA.

The District Water Management Agency (DWMA) shall implement these watersheds through Project Officers in 75% of the sanctioned projects and through line departments, autonomous organisations under State/Central Governments, Government Institutes / Research bodies, Intermediate Panchayats, Voluntary Organisations (VOs) in 25% of the projects as the Project Implementing agencies to facilitate implementation of these watersheds by the Village Watershed Committees.

At PIA level, One Project Officer shall be positioned for 2-3 IWMP clusters with a team of two Technical Officers (Agriculture/Horticulture & Civil Engineering) for each project. The Watershed Computer Centre shall be located at PO level having a Computer Operator.

In compliance of the GoI guidelines, 12 reputed NGOs having expertise in the areas of Watershed development, Natural Resource Management & Institution & Capacity building were allotted 40 IWMP Watersheds of 2009-10 & 2010-11 to function as PIAs. A Bipartite agreement is executed between DWMAs and NGO-PIAs.

For grounding of the Watershed projects through online system, software package for IWMP is being developed with the support of Tata Consultancy Services (TCS). Further, from the successful experience of MGNREGS, it has been decided to adopt Electronic Fund Management Systems for flow of Watershed funds and accordingly software is being developed by the TCS. Convergence strategy between MGNREGS & IWMP is developed for execution of NRM works. The Programme is heading towards grounding of works/interventions.